CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Armenian Art at the Metropolitan Museum of Art

Episode Details

Original tape date: September 28, 2018.

First aired: October 25, 2018.

This is the first major exhibition to explore the remarkable artistic and cultural achievements of the Armenian people in a global context over fourteen centuries—from the fourth century, when the Armenians converted to Christianity in their homeland at the base of Mount Ararat, to the seventeenth century, when Armenian control of global trade routes first brought books printed in Armenian into the region.

Through some 140 objects—including opulent gilded reliquaries, richly illuminated manuscripts, rare textiles, cross stones (khachkars), precious liturgical furnishings, church models, and printed books—the exhibition demonstrates how Armenians developed a unique Christian identity that linked their widespread communities over the years.

Guest List

Helen C. Evans Mary and Michael Jaharis Curator of Byzantine Art, The Metropolitan Museum of Art

Dr. Mary Kupelian Exchange Fellow, Department of Medieval Art

Related Websites

  • Nedjemankh and His Gilded Coffin
  • Tuesday, January 15 - 6:50am
  • Armenian Art at the Metropolitan Museum of Art
  • Sunday, December 16 - 12:20am
  • Monday, December 17 - 6:50am, 12:50pm, 10:50pm
  • Friday, December 21 - 3:40am, 10:20pm
  • Saturday, December 22 - 4:50pm, 10:45pm, 11:50pm
  • Sunday, December 23 - 3:50pm, 10:45pm
  • Tuesday, December 25 - 3:50am, 6:50am
  • Friday, December 28 - 3:20am
  • Saturday, December 29 - 1:45am
  • Sunday, December 30 - 3:50pm
  • Monday, December 31 - 12:50pm, 10:50pm
  • Saturday, January 5 - 4:50pm
  • Sunday, January 13 - 3:45pm