CUNY TV logo

 

Latest edition: November 2018

Episode Details

Original tape date: October 5, 2018.

First aired: November 6, 2018.

The presidential election is a couple of years away, but one man has already put his hat in the ring. His name is Andrew Yang, and he’s hoping to make history. Host and correspondent Ernabel Demillo speaks to the presidential hopeful.

“Work hard, go to college, change the world.” That’s the motto of Democracy Prep Public Schools. But what’s really unique about this Harlem high school is the Korean program that’s at the heart of its curriculum and culture. Reporter Kyung Yoon provides an in-depth look into this extraordinary institution.

2017 was a record breaking year for Asian American politicians elected into office.  But with this welcome increase for the community, also came an unwelcome rise in the number of racially charged hate speech against many of these politicians. Correspondent Minnie Roh meets with one New Jersey councilwoman who shares her political experiences.

New York City’s public school system is one of the biggest in the world 1.1 million students enrolled in 1700 schools. Of the 1.1. Million students, about 5% or 58,000 are undocumented. This story is about a school whose student body is 30 percent undocumented and is defying odds. Correspondent Rayner Ramirez talks to the principal who is the engine behind it all, Carl Manolo.

Guest List

Erica Bermeo Democracy Prep Charter HS

Angel Cruz QIRT 2018 Graduate, Queens High School for Information, Research, and Technology

Jomarie Figueroa Language Arts Teacher, Queens High School for Information, Research, and Technology

Zach Graumann Andrew Yang 2020 Presidential Campaign Manager

Youngjae Hur Korea Dept. Chair, Democracy Prep Charter HS

Dr. Khyati Joshi Professor of Education, Fairleigh Dickinson University

Arati Kreibich Glen Rock, NJ Borough Councilwoman

Carl Manalo Principal, Queens High School for Information, Research, and Technology

Ivan Quezada Democracy Prep Charter HS

John Restrepo Guidance Counselor, Queens High School for Information, Research, and Technology

Diavionne Robinson Democracy Prep Charter HS

Andrew Yang 2020 Presidential Candidate (D)

  • November 2018
  • Tuesday, November 20 - 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, November 21 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, November 24 - 6:00pm
  • Sunday, November 25 - 8:30am
  • December 2018
  • Tuesday, December 4 - 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, December 5 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, December 8 - 6:00pm
  • Sunday, December 9 - 8:30am
  • November 2018
  • Tuesday, November 6 - 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, November 7 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, November 10 - 6:00pm
  • Sunday, November 11 - 8:30am
  • October 2018
  • Tuesday, October 16 - 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, October 17 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, October 20 - 6:00pm
  • Sunday, October 21 - 8:30am