CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Vision and Justice with Sarah Lewis

Episode Details

Original tape date: August 3, 2016.

First aired: August 31, 2016.

Dr. Sarah Lewis, Harvard professor of art history, art historian and author of "The Rise: Creativity, The Gift of Failure and the Search for Mastery" joins Carol Jenkins to discuss how the bestseller explores the importance of a "near win" for those seeking success in any given field.

They also talk about her work as guest editor of Aperture magazine for an issue entitled Vision and Justice. Lewis details how photographers like Dowoud Bey are working to cultivate an important visual landscape for black America, and how black leaders like Frederick Douglass and Martin Luther King left a powerful stamp on the black community through their voice, their work, and the photos they appeared in.

Guest List

Dr. Sarah Lewis Author, “The Rise: Creativity, the Gift of Failure, and the Search for Mastery”

  • A Deeper Look at the Green Book with Yoruba Richen
  • Friday, March 15 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, March 16 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, March 17 - 11:30pm
  • Soul Food and More with Carla Hall
  • Friday, March 1 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, March 2 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, March 3 - 11:40pm
  • Tuesday, March 5 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, March 6 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Saturday, March 9 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, March 10 - 11:30pm
  • Tuesday, March 12 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, March 13 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Looking Back + Ahead at the Apollo with Kamilah Forbes
  • Sunday, February 17 - 11:45pm
  • Tuesday, February 19 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, February 20 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Saturday, February 23 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, February 24 - 11:30pm
  • Tuesday, February 26 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, February 27 - 7:30am, 1:30pm