CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Unbought and Unbossed with Shola Lynch

Episode Details

Original tape date: October 11, 2017.

First aired: October 20, 2017.

Shola Lynch is arguably one of the most groundbreaking Black female filmmakers in recent history. She is best known for profiling Angela Davis for her documentary, Free Angela and all Political Prisoners, and Shirley Chisholm for her Peabody award winning film Chisholm '72: Unbought and Unbossed. In 2014 Lynch was named Curator for the Moving Image and Recorded Sound Division of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture in Harlem.

Lynch recently sat with Carol Jenkins to discuss her work at the Schomburg, what inspired her to tell the stories of two powerful black women, and the female character she's working to create for her first narrative film.

Guest List

Shola Lynch Curator + Filmmaker, Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture

  • All Things Art
  • Friday, October 19 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, October 20 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, October 21 - 11:30pm
  • Tuesday, October 23 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, October 24 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Saturday, October 27 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, October 28 - 11:45pm
  • Tuesday, October 30 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, October 31 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Alyson Cambridge, Soprano
  • Friday, November 2 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, November 3 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, November 4 - 11:40pm
  • Tuesday, November 6 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, November 7 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Saturday, November 10 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, November 11 - 11:40pm
  • Tuesday, November 13 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, November 14 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • tba
  • Friday, November 16 - 9:00pm