CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Unbought and Unbossed with Shola Lynch

Episode Details

Original tape date: October 11, 2017.

First aired: October 20, 2017.

Shola Lynch is arguably one of the most groundbreaking Black female filmmakers in recent history. She is best known for profiling Angela Davis for her documentary, Free Angela and all Political Prisoners, and Shirley Chisholm for her Peabody award winning film Chisholm '72: Unbought and Unbossed. In 2014 Lynch was named Curator for the Moving Image and Recorded Sound Division of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture in Harlem.

Lynch recently sat with Carol Jenkins to discuss her work at the Schomburg, what inspired her to tell the stories of two powerful black women, and the female character she's working to create for her first narrative film.

Guest List

Shola Lynch Curator + Filmmaker, Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture

  • "Hope x Change with Jacqueline Woodson"
  • Sunday, August 19 - 11:30pm
  • Tuesday, August 21 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, August 22 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Power Rising - Women in Politics
  • Friday, August 24 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, August 25 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, August 26 - 11:35pm
  • Tuesday, August 28 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, August 29 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Saturday, September 1 - 1:00pm
  • Monday, September 3 - 12:00am
  • Tuesday, September 4 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, September 5 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Letitia James, NYC Public Advocate
  • Friday, September 7 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, September 8 - 1:00pm
  • Monday, September 10 - 12:05am
  • Tuesday, September 11 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, September 12 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Saturday, September 15 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, September 16 - 11:30pm
  • "Hope x Change with Jacqueline Woodson"
  • Friday, August 10 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, August 11 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, August 12 - 11:35pm
  • Tuesday, August 14 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, August 15 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Saturday, August 18 - 1:00pm
  • To Thine Self Be True with Sonya Renee Taylor
  • Friday, July 27 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, July 28 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, July 29 - 11:30pm
  • Tuesday, July 31 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, August 1 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Saturday, August 4 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, August 5 - 11:30pm
  • Tuesday, August 7 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, August 8 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Unbought and Unbossed with Shola Lynch
  • Saturday, July 21 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, July 22 - 11:35pm
  • Tuesday, July 24 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, July 25 - 7:30am, 1:30pm