CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Continuing the Legacy of James Baldwin

Episode Details

Original tape date: September 14, 2018.

First aired: October 5, 2018.

James Baldwin was an American novelist and social critic that explored intricacies of racial, sexual, and class distinctions. His only children's book, "Little Man, Little Man: A Story of Childhood" was just released after 40 years, depicting life in Harlem in the 1970's from the perspective of a Black child.

Host, Carol Jenkins discusses this journey to get the book published and Baldwin's legacy with Co-Editor, Nicholas Boggs, Tejan Karefa-Smart (Baldwin's nephew) and Aisha Karefa-Smart (Baldwin's niece) .

Guest List

Nicholas Boggs Co-Editor, James Baldwin’s “Little Man, Little Man”

Aisha Karefa-Smart Author, Educator & Public Speaker & Niece of James Baldwin

Tejan Karefa-Smart Photographer, Multimedia Artist & Nephew of James Baldwin

  • All Things Art
  • Friday, October 19 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, October 20 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, October 21 - 11:30pm
  • Tuesday, October 23 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, October 24 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Saturday, October 27 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, October 28 - 11:45pm
  • Tuesday, October 30 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, October 31 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Alyson Cambridge, Soprano
  • Friday, November 2 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, November 3 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, November 4 - 11:40pm
  • Tuesday, November 6 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, November 7 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Saturday, November 10 - 1:00pm
  • Sunday, November 11 - 11:40pm
  • Tuesday, November 13 - 11:30pm
  • Wednesday, November 14 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • tba
  • Friday, November 16 - 9:00pm