CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Rumble in Chinatown

Episode Details

Original tape date: March 20, 2017.

First aired: March 22, 2017.

On this edition of Independent Sources, hosted by Garry Pierre-Pierre, we look at whether gentrification is good for Chinatown. The debate over the impending changes coming for one of the country’s largest remaining Chinatowns.

Guest List

Tomie Arai Co-Founder, Chinatown Art Brigade

Wellington Z. Chen Executive Director, Chinatown Partnership

Chen-Yo Chi Tenant Organizer, CAAAV: Organizing Asian Communities

ManSee Kong Co-Founder, Chinatown Art Brigade

Irene Shen Organizer, Chinese Staff and Workers Association

Melanie Wang Tenant Organizer, CAAAV: Organizing Asian Communities

Betty Yu Co-Founder, Chinatown Art Brigade

  • Caribbean Disunity
  • Tuesday, September 25 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 27 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Rumble in Chinatown
  • Saturday, September 29 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, October 2 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, October 4 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, October 6 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, October 9 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, October 11 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Caribbean Disunity
  • Saturday, September 15 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, September 18 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 20 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, September 22 - 8:30am
  • Affordable Housing in New York
  • Saturday, September 1 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, September 4 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 6 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, September 8 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, September 11 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, September 13 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • 2017: The Year in Review
  • Tuesday, August 28 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, August 30 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm