CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Penitence & Politics

Episode Details

Original tape date: August 16, 2018.

First aired: August 17, 2018.

Crime, incarceration and punishment…how do we address the inequities of our penal system, specifically on Rikers Island? First on today’s docket is JoAnne Page, the President and CEO of The Fortune Society…the organization that provides futures beyond prison walls for ex-offenders.

The Times Co-Chief Film Critic A.O. Scott brings us his take on the new Oscars category.

Metro Politics Reporter Jeffery C. Mays addresses some of the major issues of the week on “The Back Story.”

And Sam Roberts provides some additional thoughts for “Coda.”

Guest List

Jeffery C. Mays Metro Politics Reporter, The New York Times

JoAnne Page President and CEO, The Fortune Society

A.O. Scott Co-Chief Film Critic, The New York Times

  • Penitence & Politics
  • Sunday, August 19 - 12:30pm
  • tba
  • Friday, August 31 - 8:00pm
  • Saturday, September 1 - 1:30pm
  • Sunday, September 2 - 12:30pm
  • tba
  • Friday, September 7 - 8:00pm
  • Saturday, September 8 - 1:30pm
  • Sunday, September 9 - 12:30pm
  • tba
  • Friday, September 14 - 8:00pm
  • Saturday, September 15 - 1:30pm
  • Sunday, September 16 - 12:30pm
  • Penitence & Politics
  • Friday, August 17 - 8:00pm
  • Saturday, August 18 - 1:30pm
  • "Speaking Out"
  • Friday, August 10 - 8:00pm
  • Saturday, August 11 - 1:30pm
  • Sunday, August 12 - 12:30pm
  • "Living Proof"
  • Friday, August 3 - 8:00pm
  • Saturday, August 4 - 1:30pm
  • Sunday, August 5 - 12:30pm
  • Red Ink
  • Friday, July 27 - 8:00pm
  • Saturday, July 28 - 1:30pm
  • Sunday, July 29 - 12:30pm
  • Choppy Waters
  • Friday, July 20 - 8:00pm
  • Saturday, July 21 - 1:30pm
  • Sunday, July 22 - 12:30pm