CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Jane Isay

Episode Details

Original tape date: May 8, 2018.

First aired: May 14, 2018.

The late humorist Sam Levenson once said “The reason grandparents and grandchildren get along so well is that they have…. a common enemy.” In addition to being the unexpected and amazing joy of their later lives, for many grandparents grandchildren are the opportunity for a do-over, to be the parents they couldn’t be to their own children.

But grandparenting can also be like walking on eggshells: figuring out when to offer advice and when to withhold it, how to set boundaries, and how to deal with responsibilities one may not have contemplated.

In her latest book, “Unconditional Love: A Guide to Navigating the Joys and Challenges of Being a Grandparent Today,” author Jane Isay, a grandmother of four, draws on her own experiences and those of other grandparents to provide advice on how to navigate the uncertain waters of parenthood.

Guest List

Jane Isay Author, “Unconditional Love”

  • Jane Isay
  • Saturday, September 29 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, October 1 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Jeannie Park and Margaret Chin
  • Monday, October 1 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, October 3 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, October 6 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, October 7 - 9:30am
  • Monday, October 8 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, October 13 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, October 15 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Ron Howell
  • Monday, October 15 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, October 17 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, October 20 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, October 21 - 9:30am
  • Monday, October 22 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Jane Isay
  • Monday, September 17 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, September 19 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, September 22 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, September 23 - 9:30am
  • Monday, September 24 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Miri Song
  • Monday, September 3 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, September 5 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, September 8 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, September 9 - 9:30am
  • Monday, September 10 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, September 15 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, September 17 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Ligia Guallpa
  • Sunday, August 26 - 9:30am
  • Monday, August 27 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, September 1 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, September 3 - 8:00am, 2:00pm