CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Jeannie Park and Margaret Chin



Online media for this episode is not currently available on our website.

Episode Details

Original tape date: September 17, 2018.

First aired: October 1, 2018.

Promoting diversity or engaging in racial discrimination? That’s the question that’s being debated in a federal lawsuit against Harvard University, one of the most sought after and selective schools in the country. The lawsuit charges that under the guise of trying to achieve racial and ethnic diversity among its students, Harvard has in fact established a quota for Asian-Americans applicants that keeps many from being admitted. Is Harvard discriminating against Asian Americans, or is the lawsuit, as some charge, actually part of a strategy to eliminate affirmative action that benefits all minorities?

Here to discuss the lawsuit and its ramifications are Jeannie Park, President of the Harvard Asian American Alumni Alliance and Margaret Chin, a sociology professor at Hunter College. Both are board members of the Coalition for a Diverse Harvard.

Guest List

Margaret M. Chin Associate Professor of Sociology, Hunter College and the Graduate Center/CUNY

Jeannie Park President, Harvard Asian American Alumni Alliance

  • Jane Isay
  • Saturday, September 29 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, October 1 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Jeannie Park and Margaret Chin
  • Monday, October 1 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, October 3 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, October 6 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, October 7 - 9:30am
  • Monday, October 8 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, October 13 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, October 15 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Ron Howell
  • Monday, October 15 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, October 17 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, October 20 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, October 21 - 9:30am
  • Monday, October 22 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Jane Isay
  • Monday, September 17 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, September 19 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, September 22 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, September 23 - 9:30am
  • Monday, September 24 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Miri Song
  • Monday, September 3 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, September 5 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, September 8 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, September 9 - 9:30am
  • Monday, September 10 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, September 15 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, September 17 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Ligia Guallpa
  • Sunday, August 26 - 9:30am
  • Monday, August 27 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, September 1 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, September 3 - 8:00am, 2:00pm