CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Jeannie Park and Margaret Chin

Episode Details

Original tape date: September 17, 2018.

First aired: October 1, 2018.

Promoting diversity or engaging in racial discrimination? That’s the question that’s being debated in a federal lawsuit against Harvard University, one of the most sought after and selective schools in the country. The lawsuit charges that under the guise of trying to achieve racial and ethnic diversity among its students, Harvard has in fact established a quota for Asian-Americans applicants that keeps many from being admitted. Is Harvard discriminating against Asian Americans, or is the lawsuit, as some charge, actually part of a strategy to eliminate affirmative action that benefits all minorities?

Here to discuss the lawsuit and its ramifications are Jeannie Park, President of the Harvard Asian American Alumni Alliance and Margaret Chin, a sociology professor at Hunter College. Both are board members of the Coalition for a Diverse Harvard.

Guest List

Margaret M. Chin Associate Professor of Sociology, Hunter College and the Graduate Center/CUNY

Jeannie Park President, Harvard Asian American Alumni Alliance

  • Ken Foster
  • Saturday, January 19 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, January 21 - 2:00pm
  • Jeannie Park and Margaret Chin
  • Monday, January 21 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, January 23 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, January 26 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, January 27 - 9:30am
  • Monday, January 28 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, February 2 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, February 4 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • tba
  • Monday, February 4 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, February 6 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, February 9 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, February 10 - 9:30am
  • Monday, February 11 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Ken Foster
  • Monday, January 7 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, January 9 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, January 12 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, January 13 - 9:30am
  • Monday, January 14 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  •  Ron Howell, Author, Boss of Black Brooklyn
  • Monday, December 24 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, December 26 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, December 29 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, December 30 - 9:30am
  • Monday, December 31 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, January 5 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, January 7 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Autism Awareness
  • Sunday, December 16 - 9:30am
  • Monday, December 17 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, December 22 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, December 24 - 8:00am, 2:00pm