CUNY TV logo

 

Latest edition: Michael Rebell on the Push for Civic Education

Episode Details

Original tape date: February 20, 2019.

First aired: March 11, 2019.

National surveys have shown that fewer than one-third of eighth-graders could identify the purpose of the Declaration of Independence. And fewer than half of all Americans can name the three branches of our federal government. Civic ignorance is rampant in the U.S. and we are all paying a price for it. What can be done? Bob asks his guest, Michael Rebell, a professor at Columbia Teachers College and Columbia Law School, who is engaged in an all-out campaign to improve the teaching of civics and government in our public schools. He is the author of “Flunking Democracy: Schools, Courts, and Civic Participation.”

Guest List

Dir. Michael A. Rebell Executive Director, The Center for Educational Equity

  • The Human Trafficking Side to Illicit Massage Parlors
  • Wednesday, March 27 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, March 30 - 3:00pm
  • Sunday, March 31 - 9:30am
  • Monday, April 1 - 9:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, April 6 - 3:00pm
  • Monday, April 8 - 9:30am, 3:30pm
  • Eric Alterman
  • Monday, April 8 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, April 10 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, April 13 - 3:00pm
  • Sunday, April 14 - 9:30am
  • Monday, April 15 - 9:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, April 20 - 3:00pm
  • Monday, April 22 - 9:30am, 3:30pm
  • TBA
  • Monday, April 22 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, April 24 - 11:30pm