CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Season 1/Episode 8





Online media for this show is not available on our website.

Episode Details

First aired: November 21, 2017.

In 2016, the Centro Library & Archives hosted “Cafe Con Comics,” an exhibition and panel discussion focused on the under-appreciated work of Puerto Ricans in the comic book industry.

Edgardo Miranda-Rodríguez, creator of La Borinquena, discusses the inspiration behind the character and importance of an Afro-Puerto Rican comic book superhero being a symbol of hope for the Puerto Ricans struggling in the midst of an economic crisis.

Beloved for her iconic role as Maria on Sesame Street, Sonia Manzano talks about her difficult upbringing, being a Latina role model on television, and her writing career.

Guest List

Sonia Manzano Author, The Revolution of Evelyn Serrano

  • Season 1/Episode 1
  • Tuesday, October 16 - 10:00pm
  • Wednesday, October 17 - 10:00am, 3:00pm
  • Season 1/Episode 10
  • Tuesday, October 9 - 10:00pm
  • Wednesday, October 10 - 10:00am, 3:00pm
  • Saturday, October 13 - 6:30am
  • Sunday, October 14 - 8:30pm
  • Season 1/Episode 9
  • Tuesday, October 2 - 10:00pm
  • Wednesday, October 3 - 10:00am, 3:00pm
  • Saturday, October 6 - 6:30am
  • Sunday, October 7 - 8:30pm
  • Season 1/Episode 8
  • Tuesday, September 25 - 10:00pm
  • Wednesday, September 26 - 10:00am, 3:00pm
  • Saturday, September 29 - 6:30am
  • Sunday, September 30 - 8:30pm
  • Season 1/Episode 7
  • Tuesday, September 18 - 10:00pm
  • Wednesday, September 19 - 10:00am, 3:00pm
  • Saturday, September 22 - 6:30am
  • Sunday, September 23 - 8:30pm