CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Season 1/Episode 8





Online media for this show is not available on our website.

Episode Details

First aired: November 21, 2017.

In 2016, the Centro Library & Archives hosted “Cafe Con Comics,” an exhibition and panel discussion focused on the under-appreciated work of Puerto Ricans in the comic book industry.

Edgardo Miranda-Rodríguez, creator of La Borinquena, discusses the inspiration behind the character and importance of an Afro-Puerto Rican comic book superhero being a symbol of hope for the Puerto Ricans struggling in the midst of an economic crisis.

Beloved for her iconic role as Maria on Sesame Street, Sonia Manzano talks about her difficult upbringing, being a Latina role model on television, and her writing career.

Guest List

Sonia Manzano Author, The Revolution of Evelyn Serrano

  • Season 2/Episode 17: The Bronx Boys, Bronx Tour, El Maestro
  • Tuesday, December 11 - 10:00pm
  • Wednesday, December 12 - 10:00am, 3:00pm
  • Saturday, December 15 - 6:30am
  • Sunday, December 16 - 8:30pm
  • Season 2/Episode 21
  • Tuesday, December 4 - 10:00pm
  • Wednesday, December 5 - 10:00am, 3:00pm
  • Saturday, December 8 - 6:30am
  • Sunday, December 9 - 8:30pm
  • Season 2/Episode 20
  • Tuesday, November 27 - 10:00pm
  • Wednesday, November 28 - 10:00am, 3:00pm
  • Saturday, December 1 - 6:30am
  • Sunday, December 2 - 8:30pm
  • Season 2/Episode 14
  • Tuesday, November 20 - 10:00pm
  • Wednesday, November 21 - 10:00am, 3:00pm
  • Saturday, November 24 - 6:30am
  • Sunday, November 25 - 8:30pm
  • Season 2/Episode 19
  • Saturday, November 17 - 6:30am
  • Sunday, November 18 - 8:30pm