CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Science & U!: The Best of Spring

Episode Details

Original tape date: April 5, 2016.

First aired: May 3, 2016.

Spring is here and Science & U! would like to take an encore look at some of our favorite segments about the animal kingdom and the best ways of producing food:

Dr. Max Gomez finds out what exactly USDA Organic means and the difference between that and natural foods.

Andrew Falzon dives into the future of farming with the man who coined the term “Vertical Farm.”

Mike Gilliam visits the Waldorf Astoria’s rooftop, where a bee farm sits, to figure out what has been disturbing the vulnerable honeybee.

Donna Hanover discusses the important role birds play in our environment from eating harmful parasites to spreading seeds.

Magalie Laguerre-Wilkinson learns some interesting characteristics of the horseshoe crab, including their blue blood.

Guest List

Robert Bate Brooklyn Bird Club

Eric Collins Owner, Capitol Fishing

Andrew Cote President, New York Beekeepers Association

Dickson Despommier, PhD Professor, Columbia University

Peter Dorosh Brooklyn Bird Club

Christine Johnson Curator, Invertebrate Zoology, American Museum of Natural History

Dr. Wahida Karmally Nutritionist, Research Scientist, Columbia University Medical Center

David C. Lahti Asst. Prof. Biology, Queens College

Lee Mandell Owner, Boswyck Farms

Dr. Martin P. Schreibman Distinguished Professor of Biology, Brooklyn College

Tom Stephenson Author, “The Warbler Guide”

  • Science and Alternative Healing
  • Wednesday, November 21 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, November 22 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, November 24 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, November 25 - 5:30pm
  • October 2017
  • Wednesday, November 28 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, November 29 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, December 1 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, December 2 - 5:30pm
  • Science & U!: The Best of Spring
  • Wednesday, December 5 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, December 6 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, December 8 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, December 9 - 5:30pm
  • Season 6/Episode 5: May 2017
  • Wednesday, December 12 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, December 13 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, December 15 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, December 16 - 5:30pm
  • Science and Women
  • Wednesday, December 19 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, December 20 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • September 2017
  • Wednesday, November 14 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, November 15 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, November 17 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, November 18 - 5:30pm
  • Science and U!: The Best of S&U! 2014
  • Wednesday, November 7 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, November 8 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, November 10 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, November 11 - 5:30pm
  • Science and Profiles
  • Wednesday, October 31 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, November 1 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, November 3 - 11:30am
  • Science & The Earth
  • Wednesday, October 24 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, October 25 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, October 27 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, October 28 - 5:30pm