CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: September 2017

Episode Details

Original tape date: August 8, 2017.

First aired: September 6, 2017.

This month on Science & U!:

Technological advances have led to many interesting cultural behaviors. For example, cell phones gave way to the selfie, so what’s next? Tinabeth Piña went to Doob USA to get her own selfie, in 3D.

Prospect Park is finding a way to be even greener. Composting already exists all over New York City but not like this. Andrew Falzon discovers a bathroom in the park that is composting human waste into clean and usable soil.

Jumping out of a plane may be a little too risky for some but if you head over to iFLY in Yonkers you can get a similar feeling. Ari Goldberg learned the physics of Bodyflight from just five feet up.

The Brazilian Martial Arts of Jiu Jitsu is meant for smaller individuals with less strength to be able to defend themselves. Fortunately for them, science is on their side. Lisa Beth Kovetz heads to the Renzo Gracie studio in Astoria to see how these fighters use science and math in self-defense.

It’s amazing what can be done with glass, from sculptures to bottles. Mike Gilliam visited Brooklyn Glass to see first hand the process of making glass, blowing glass, and the making of neon signs.


For More Information:
Doob - https://www.doob3d.com
Composting - www1.nyc.gov/assets/dsny/zerowaste/residents/nyc-compost-project.shtml
iFLY - https://www.iflyworld.com
Jiu Jitsu - www.renzogracieastoria.com
Glassmaking - www.brooklynglass.com
- www.leotecosky.com

Guest List

David Ablon Co-Owner, Precision Neon

Christopher Andrade IFLY

Magno Gama Renzo Gracie - Astoria

Alden Maddry Architect, Prospect Park Alliance

Moiya McTier Physicist, Columbia University

Jonnie Rettele Production Coordinator, DOOB USA

Leo Tecosky Artist in Residence, Brooklyn Glass

Jeff Williams Business Manager, DOOB USA

  • Science & The Internet
  • Sunday, January 20 - 5:30pm
  • Science and the Environment
  • Wednesday, January 23 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, January 24 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, January 26 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, January 27 - 5:30pm
  • Science and Exercise
  • Wednesday, January 30 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, January 31 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, February 2 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, February 3 - 5:30pm
  • Science and Food
  • Wednesday, February 6 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, February 7 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, February 9 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, February 10 - 5:30pm
  • Science and the Brain
  • Wednesday, February 13 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, February 14 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, February 16 - 11:30am
  • Science & The Internet
  • Wednesday, January 16 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, January 17 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, January 19 - 11:30am
  • Science and Advances in Breast Cancer
  • Wednesday, January 9 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, January 10 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, January 12 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, January 13 - 5:30pm
  • Science and the Arts
  • Wednesday, January 2 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, January 3 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, January 5 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, January 6 - 5:30pm
  • Science and Men's Health
  • Wednesday, December 26 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, December 27 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, December 29 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, December 30 - 5:30pm
  • Science and Women
  • Thursday, December 20 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, December 22 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, December 23 - 5:30pm