CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: November 2017: Climate Change

Episode Details

Original tape date: October 12, 2017.

First aired: November 1, 2017.

This special half-hour of Science & U! is dedicated to bringing awareness to the issues of climate change, with some special guests that help enlighten us on certain aspects of climate change that are frequently overlooked:

Dr. Gavin Schmidt, Director the NASA Goddard Institute for Space Studies, specializes in climate modeling and explains to Carol Anne Riddell and Dr. Max Gomez, how scientists look at the many attributes to climate change.

Andrew Falzon dissects the recent events of more intense storms like the hurricanes that swept through Texas, Florida, and Puerto Rico to find out if this is the new normal.

Conservationist and Aquanaut Fabien Cousteau brings attention to sea life and how these creatures are also being impacted by climate change and rising ocean temperatures.

Ernabel Demillo addresses the very real public health concerns that are already impacting our communities, low-income areas in particular.

Guest List

Dr. Nicholas Coch Professor of Earth & Environmental Science, Queens College, CUNY

Fabien Cousteau Aquanaut & Conservationist

Dr. Mark Mitchell National Medical Association

Dana Parish Singer/Songwriter

Dr. Gavin Schmidt Director, NASA Goddard Institute of Space Studies

Adam Sobel Professor, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, Columbia University

  • November 2017: Climate Change
  • Saturday, October 20 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, October 21 - 5:30pm
  • Science & The Earth
  • Wednesday, October 24 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, October 25 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, October 27 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, October 28 - 5:30pm
  • Science and Profiles
  • Wednesday, October 31 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, November 1 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, November 3 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, November 4 - 5:30pm
  • Science and U!: The Best of S&U! 2014
  • Wednesday, November 7 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, November 8 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, November 10 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, November 11 - 5:30pm
  • September 2017
  • Wednesday, November 14 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, November 15 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • November 2017: Climate Change
  • Wednesday, October 17 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, October 18 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Science and Technology
  • Wednesday, October 10 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, October 11 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, October 13 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, October 14 - 5:30pm
  • Science and Genetics
  • Wednesday, October 3 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, October 4 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, October 6 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, October 7 - 5:30pm
  • August 2017
  • Wednesday, September 26 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, September 27 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, September 29 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, September 30 - 5:30pm
  • Science & Animals
  • Wednesday, September 19 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, September 20 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, September 22 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, September 23 - 5:30pm