CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: August 2018

Episode Details

Original tape date: August 1, 2018.

First aired: August 1, 2018.

This month on Science & U!:

Andrew Falzon visits the Smithsonian Cooper Hewitt Museum of Design to see an exhibit showing off new designs and technologies that are helping people overcome disability.

Magalie Laguerre-Wilkinson sits down with former human rights lawyer, Miranda Massie, to talk about her new venture, a museum about climate change.

Tinabeth Piña meets an educator who is using 3D printers to make life-changing impacts for children in need.

Mike Gilliam discusses the use of recreational drugs as a modern form of medicine to treat a variety of conditions.

Ari Goldberg finds a group of CUNY scientists who have just made a major discovery in nanotechnology.

For More Information:
Access + Ability - www.cooperhewitt.org
Climate Museum - climatemuseum.org
The Hand Challenge - www.handchallenge.com
Nanoscience - nanoscience.asrc.cuny.edu

Last Month in Science
- www.theverge.com/circuitbreaker/2018/6/12/17453918/ibm-summit-worlds-fastest-supercomputer-america-department-of-energy
- news.wisc.edu/study-suggests-buried-internet-infrastructure-at-risk-as-sea-levels-rise
- sealevel.climatecentral.org
- www.hopkinsmedicine.org/news/media/releases/scientists_create_nano_size_packets_of_genetic_code_aimed_at_brain_cancer_seed_cells

Guest List

Victor Calise Alum, Commissioner, Queens College, Mayor's Office For People with Disabilities

Dr. Chris Craft Founder, The Hand Challenge

Joshua Lee, MD NYU Langone

Miranda Massie Founder and Director, The Climate Museum

Cara McCarty Curatorial Director, Cooper Hewitt

Dr. Elisa Riedo Professor of Physics, Advanced Science Research Center, Graduate Center/CUNY

  • November 2017: Climate Change
  • Thursday, October 18 - 4:30pm
  • Saturday, October 20 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, October 21 - 5:30pm
  • Science & The Earth
  • Wednesday, October 24 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, October 25 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, October 27 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, October 28 - 5:30pm
  • Science and Profiles
  • Wednesday, October 31 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, November 1 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, November 3 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, November 4 - 5:30pm
  • Science and U!: The Best of S&U! 2014
  • Wednesday, November 7 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, November 8 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, November 10 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, November 11 - 5:30pm
  • September 2017
  • Wednesday, November 14 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, November 15 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • November 2017: Climate Change
  • Wednesday, October 17 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, October 18 - 10:30am
  • Science and Technology
  • Wednesday, October 10 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, October 11 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, October 13 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, October 14 - 5:30pm
  • Science and Genetics
  • Wednesday, October 3 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, October 4 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, October 6 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, October 7 - 5:30pm
  • August 2017
  • Wednesday, September 26 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, September 27 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, September 29 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, September 30 - 5:30pm
  • Science & Animals
  • Wednesday, September 19 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, September 20 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, September 22 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, September 23 - 5:30pm