CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Mark Polizzotti

Episode Details

Original tape date: August 20, 2018.

First aired: October 24, 2018.

Why does Michelangelo’s sculpture of Moses depict him with horns? Why do we think the Garden of Eden’s forbidden fruit was an apple? The answers lie in failures of translation.
Renowned translator Mark Polizzotti of the Met Museum discusses those failures and much more in his latest book, Sympathy for the Traitor, a lucid and even humorous translation manifesto.

Guest List

Mark Polizzotti Author/Translator; Publisher & Editor in Chief, The Metropolitan Museum of Art

  • Dan Barry
  • Saturday, December 15 - 7:30pm
  • Sunday, December 16 - 10:00am
  • Wednesday, December 19 - 9:30am, 4:30pm
  • Jennifer Jones Austin
  • Wednesday, December 19 - 8:30pm
  • Saturday, December 22 - 7:30pm
  • Sunday, December 23 - 10:00am
  • Wednesday, December 26 - 9:30am, 4:30pm
  • Wednesday, January 2 - 8:30pm
  • Saturday, January 5 - 7:30pm
  • Sunday, January 6 - 10:00am
  • Wednesday, January 9 - 9:30am, 4:30pm
  • Mark Polizzotti
  • Wednesday, December 26 - 8:30pm
  • Saturday, December 29 - 7:30pm
  • Sunday, December 30 - 10:00am
  • Wednesday, January 2 - 9:30am, 4:30pm
  • Wednesday, January 9 - 8:30pm
  • Saturday, January 12 - 7:30pm
  • Dan Barry
  • Wednesday, November 28 - 8:30pm
  • Saturday, December 1 - 7:30pm
  • Sunday, December 2 - 10:00am
  • Wednesday, December 5 - 9:30am, 4:30pm
  • Wednesday, December 12 - 8:30pm
  • Steve Karmen
  • Wednesday, November 21 - 8:30pm
  • Saturday, November 24 - 7:30pm
  • Sunday, November 25 - 10:00am
  • Wednesday, November 28 - 9:30am, 4:30pm
  • Wednesday, December 5 - 8:30pm
  • Saturday, December 8 - 7:30pm
  • Sunday, December 9 - 10:00am
  • Wednesday, December 12 - 9:30am, 4:30pm
  • Mark Polizzotti
  • Wednesday, November 14 - 8:30pm
  • Saturday, November 17 - 7:30pm
  • Sunday, November 18 - 10:00am
  • Wednesday, November 21 - 9:30am, 4:30pm
  • Ron Gonen
  • Wednesday, November 14 - 9:30am, 4:30pm