CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Mark Polizzotti

Episode Details

Original tape date: August 20, 2018.

First aired: October 24, 2018.

Why does Michelangelo’s sculpture of Moses depict him with horns? Why do we think the Garden of Eden’s forbidden fruit was an apple? The answers lie in failures of translation.
Renowned translator Mark Polizzotti of the Met Museum discusses those failures and much more in his latest book, Sympathy for the Traitor, a lucid and even humorous translation manifesto.

Guest List

Mark Polizzotti Author/Translator; Publisher & Editor in Chief, The Metropolitan Museum of Art

  • Jeremy Schapp
  • Sunday, February 17 - 10:00am
  • Wednesday, February 20 - 9:30am, 4:30pm
  • Mort Gerberg
  • Wednesday, February 20 - 8:30pm
  • Saturday, February 23 - 7:30pm
  • Sunday, February 24 - 10:00am
  • Wednesday, February 27 - 9:30am, 4:30pm
  • Wednesday, March 6 - 8:30pm
  • Saturday, March 9 - 7:30pm
  • Sunday, March 10 - 10:00am
  • Wednesday, March 13 - 9:30am, 4:30pm
  • Ken Auletta - political reporter, author
  • Wednesday, February 27 - 8:30pm
  • Saturday, March 2 - 7:30pm
  • Sunday, March 3 - 10:00am
  • Wednesday, March 6 - 9:30am, 4:30pm
  • Wednesday, March 13 - 8:30pm
  • Saturday, March 16 - 7:30pm
  • Sunday, March 17 - 10:00am
  • Joyce Wadler
  • Wednesday, January 23 - 8:30pm
  • Saturday, January 26 - 7:30pm
  • Sunday, January 27 - 10:00am
  • Wednesday, January 30 - 9:30am, 4:30pm
  • Wednesday, February 6 - 8:30pm
  • Saturday, February 9 - 7:30pm
  • Sunday, February 10 - 10:00am
  • Wednesday, February 13 - 9:30am, 4:30pm
  • David Margolick - The Promise and the Dream
  • Monday, January 21 - 9:00am
  • Jeremy Schapp
  • Saturday, January 19 - 7:30pm
  • Sunday, January 20 - 10:00am
  • Wednesday, January 23 - 9:30am, 4:30pm
  • Wednesday, January 30 - 8:30pm
  • Saturday, February 2 - 7:30pm
  • Sunday, February 3 - 10:00am
  • Wednesday, February 6 - 9:30am, 4:30pm
  • Wednesday, February 13 - 8:30pm
  • Saturday, February 16 - 7:30pm