CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: May 2019

Episode Details

Original tape date: April 1, 2019.

First aired: May 7, 2019.

All new Asian American Life hosted by Ernabel Demillo. May is Asian Pacific American Heritage Month and this month's show highlights the many contributions of Asian American Pacific Islanders (AAPIs) in this country.

*Rayner Ramirez takes a closer look at the rise in the number of suicides of Asian American yellow cab drivers in NYC due to fierce competition from ride sharing apps like Uber and Lyft as well as the staggering fees that are driving many of them to desperation.

* Ernabel Demillo takes us behind the scenes at "Gold Mountain," a new musical commemorating the 150th anniversary of the completion of the Transcontinental Railroad. The star studded cast, led by Jason Ma, tell the long ignored story about the contributions
of the Chinese who helped build the railroad.

*Kyung Yoon interviews playwright and screenwriter Diana Son, who has been blazing the trails in Hollywood for Asian Americans, both on and off the screen.

And during this era of great political activism, Minnie Roh introduces us to Uyen "Winn" Khuong, a former Vietnamese boat person and refugee who is gaining momentum as a proud defender of democracy with her group, Action together NJ.

Guest List
Mohammed Mahbub, Taxi Driver
Bhairavi Desai, Executive Director, New York Taxi Workers Alliance
Jason Ma, Writer, "Gold Mountain"
Ali Ewoldt, "Mei," "Gold Mountain"
Corky Lee, Photographer
Diana Son, Playwright and Screenwriter
Uyen "Winn" Khuong, Executive Director & Co-Founder, Action Together New Jersey
Representative Andy Kim, (D) NJ 3rd District

Guest List

Bhairavi Desai Executive Director, New York Taxi Workers Alliance

Ali Ewoldt Actress, “Phantom of the Opera”

Uyen "Winn" Khuong Executive Director & Co-Founder, Action Together New Jersey

Andy Kim U.S. House of Representatives

Corky Lee Photographer

Jason Ma Writer, Gold Mountain

Mohammed Mahbub Taxi Driver

Diana Son Playwright

  • May 2019
  • Saturday, May 25 - 6:00pm
  • Sunday, May 26 - 8:30am
  • June 2019
  • Tuesday, June 4 - 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, June 5 - 8:00am
  • Saturday, June 8 - 6:00pm
  • Sunday, June 9 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, June 18 - 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, June 19 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, June 22 - 6:00pm
  • Sunday, June 23 - 8:30am
  • May 2019
  • Tuesday, May 7 - 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, May 8 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, May 11 - 6:00pm
  • Sunday, May 12 - 8:30am
  • Tuesday, May 21 - 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, May 22 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • April 2019
  • Tuesday, April 30 - 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, May 1 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, May 4 - 6:00pm
  • Sunday, May 5 - 8:30am