CUNY TV logo


Latest edition: Doctrinal Dimension: Islam

Online media for this show is not available on our website.

Episode Details

First aired: June 14, 2010.

Focuses on the study of Islam and considers the "second dimensional triangle" formed by doctrine, ethics, and society. Students see how Islamic doctrines and ethical practices work together to shape Islamic society. Key Islamic concepts covered in discussion include "The Five Pillars of Islam" (a.k.a. The Five Articles of the Islamic Faith), shirk, shari'a, jihad, the holy Qu'ran, and the meaning behind the prayer ritual.