CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Jamaica, Queens

Episode Details

Original tape date: December 7, 2018.

First aired: December 14, 2018.

On this month’s edition of DiverseCITY – how the Jamaica Station transit hub is making the surrounding neighborhood the newest hot spot for real estate development, and the impact that’s having on the community. The growing Bangladeshi population and how they’re making their presence felt in Jamaica. A historical house and the owner that helped shape the US constitution. Then the long-lasting effect that a freighter crash off Jamaica Bay has continued to have on US immigration policy.

Guest List

Nadezhda Allen Executive Director, King Manor Museum

Peter Cohn Director, “Golden Venture”

Fakrul Islam Delwar Community Advocate

Scott Diamond Project Manager, Alvista Towers

Hope Knight President, Greater Jamaica, Development Corp.

Mohammad T. Rahman Retired City Civil Servant

Andrew Rebatta Assistant Curator, Museum of Chinese in America

Claire R. Thomas Dir. of Asylum Clinic & Adjunct Professor, New York Law School

Russell Wasden Assistant Principal, English as a New Language, Hillcrest High School

  • Long Island City, Queens
  • Thursday, April 25 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Friday, April 26 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, April 27 - 8:30am
  • Sunday, April 28 - 6:00pm
  • Tuesday, April 30 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, May 2 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, May 4 - 8:30am
  • Sunday, May 5 - 6:00pm
  • Tuesday, May 7 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, May 9 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • tba
  • Friday, May 10 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, May 11 - 8:30am
  • Sunday, May 12 - 6:00pm
  • Tuesday, May 14 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, May 16 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, May 18 - 8:30am
  • Sunday, May 19 - 6:00pm
  • Tuesday, May 21 - 4:30pm
  • Long Island City, Queens
  • Friday, April 12 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, April 13 - 8:30am
  • Sunday, April 14 - 6:00pm
  • Tuesday, April 16 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, April 18 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, April 20 - 8:30am
  • Sunday, April 21 - 6:00pm
  • Tuesday, April 23 - 4:30pm
  • Sunset Park, Brooklyn
  • Sunday, March 24 - 6:00pm
  • Tuesday, March 26 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, March 28 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, March 30 - 8:30am
  • Sunday, March 31 - 6:00pm
  • Tuesday, April 2 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, April 4 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, April 6 - 8:30am
  • Sunday, April 7 - 6:00pm
  • Tuesday, April 9 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, April 11 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm