CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Loisaida, Manhattan

Episode Details

Original tape date: May 8, 2019.

First aired: May 10, 2019.

On this edition we explore, LOISAIDA, the section of Manhattan’s Lower East Side that gets its Spanglish nickname from one of the Puerto Rican activists who helped reshape the neighborhood. Stories include: A last ditch effort to save the East River Park from being buried under 10 feet of dirt. A long-time activist's concern that the area is losing its Puerto Rican identity. The history and struggles of the Loisaida Center. A profile of a museum that remembers the squatters and community gardens that have shaped the neighborhood. Then we learn about the area’s rich German heritage.

Guest List

Harry Bubbins East Village and Special Projects Director , Greenwich Village Society for Historic Preservation

Amy Chester Managing Director, Rebuild by Design

Christine Datz-Romero Executive Director, Lower East Side Ecology Center

Bill Di Paola Co-Founder, Museum of Reclaimed Urban Space

Libertad Guerra Artistic Director, The Loisaida Center, Inc

Sandra Rivas Nurse / Cultural Activist

  • Loisaida, Manhattan
  • Sunday, May 19 - 6:00pm
  • Tuesday, May 21 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, May 23 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Friday, May 24 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, May 25 - 8:30am
  • Sunday, May 26 - 6:00pm
  • Tuesday, May 28 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, May 30 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 1 - 8:30am
  • Sunday, June 2 - 6:00pm
  • Tuesday, June 4 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, June 6 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, June 8 - 8:30am
  • Sunday, June 9 - 6:00pm
  • Tuesday, June 11 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, June 13 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • tba
  • Friday, June 14 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, June 15 - 8:30am
  • Sunday, June 16 - 6:00pm
  • Loisaida, Manhattan
  • Friday, May 10 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, May 11 - 8:30am
  • Sunday, May 12 - 6:00pm
  • Tuesday, May 14 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, May 16 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, May 18 - 8:30am
  • Long Island City, Queens
  • Saturday, April 20 - 8:30am
  • Sunday, April 21 - 6:00pm
  • Tuesday, April 23 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, April 25 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Friday, April 26 - 9:00pm
  • Saturday, April 27 - 8:30am
  • Sunday, April 28 - 6:00pm
  • Tuesday, April 30 - 4:30pm
  • Thursday, May 2 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm
  • Saturday, May 4 - 8:30am
  • Sunday, May 5 - 6:00pm
  • Thursday, May 9 - 7:00am, 1:00pm, 11:00pm