CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Jane Hirschmann, co-chair of Time Out From Testing

Episode Details

Original tape date: April 5, 2005.

Ms. Hirschmann talks about the problem of “high-stakes testing” - when the single score of the exam determines graduation or promotion. She discusses the way in which the Regents are appointed in New York, as well as the inherent problems with Mayor Bloomberg's restructuring of the city's educational system. In addition, Ms. Hirschmann explains the separation of powers between state and city, and what “consortium schools” are and how they function.

Guest List

Ronnie M. Eldridge Host, Eldridge & Co.

Jane Hirschmann Co-Chair of Time Out From Testing

  • Norman Siegel, Declaration 17
  • Saturday, May 25 - 7:00pm
  • Sunday, May 26 - 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, May 29 - 9:00am, 4:00pm
  • Marti Speranza Wong
  • Wednesday, May 29 - 10:00pm
  • Saturday, June 1 - 7:00pm
  • Sunday, June 2 - 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, June 5 - 9:00am, 4:00pm
  • TBA
  • Wednesday, June 5 - 10:00pm
  • Saturday, June 8 - 7:00pm
  • Sunday, June 9 - 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, June 12 - 9:00am, 4:00pm
  • Wednesday, June 19 - 10:00pm
  • Saturday, June 22 - 7:00pm
  • TBA
  • Wednesday, June 12 - 10:00pm
  • Saturday, June 15 - 7:00pm
  • Sunday, June 16 - 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, June 19 - 9:00am, 4:00pm