CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Michael Powell: "Sports of the Times" Columnist

Episode Details

Original tape date: October 2, 2018.

First aired: October 17, 2018.

NY Times sports columnist, "Sports of the Times," Michael Powell sees sports as part of "culture, politics, race, sometimes sex - all that stuff comes in play when writing about sports," and that the President has accelerated the conversation of politics in sports. Powell describes football as brutal, militaristic; baseball, conservative; and basketball as jazzy! the most liberal of the sports.

Guest List

Michael Powell “Sports of The Times” Columnist, The New York Times

  • Marti Speranza Wong
  • Wednesday, May 22 - 9:00am, 4:00pm
  • Wednesday, May 29 - 10:00pm
  • Saturday, June 1 - 7:00pm
  • Sunday, June 2 - 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, June 5 - 9:00am, 4:00pm
  • Norman Siegel, Declaration 17
  • Wednesday, May 22 - 10:00pm
  • Saturday, May 25 - 7:00pm
  • Sunday, May 26 - 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, May 29 - 9:00am, 4:00pm
  • TBA
  • Wednesday, June 5 - 10:00pm
  • Saturday, June 8 - 7:00pm
  • Sunday, June 9 - 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, June 12 - 9:00am, 4:00pm
  • Wednesday, June 19 - 10:00pm
  • TBA
  • Wednesday, June 12 - 10:00pm
  • Saturday, June 15 - 7:00pm
  • Sunday, June 16 - 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, June 19 - 9:00am, 4:00pm