CUNY TV logo

 

Latest edition: The Shop on Main Street (1965)





Online media for this show is not available on our website.

Episode Details

First aired: March 30, 2019.

(1965, Drama|War, Country: Czechoslovakia, Language: Slovak | Yiddish | German, B&W)
Directors: Jan Kadar, Elmar Klos
Writers: Ladislav Grosman (screenplay), Ladislav Grosman (story)
Stars: Ida Kaminska, Jozef Kroner, Hana Slivkova

An inept Slovak peasant is torn between greed and guilt when the Nazi-backed bosses of his town appoint him "Aryan controller" of an old Jewish widow's button shop. Humor and tragedy fuse in this scathing exploration of one cowardly man's complicity in the horrors of a totalitarian regime. Made near the height of Soviet oppression in Czechoslovakia, The Shop on Main Street features intense editing and camera work which won it the Academy Award for Best Foreign Film in 1965.

Discussion Guest: Annette Insdorf / Columbia University.

Guest List

Annette Insdorf Director of Undergraduate Film Studies, Columbia University

  • Anna Karenina
  • Friday, April 19 - 2:00am
  • Sunday, April 21 - 1:00pm
  • As You Like It
  • Wednesday, April 24 - 4:00am
  • Friday, April 26 - 2:00am
  • Sunday, April 28 - 1:00pm
  • Abilene Town
  • Wednesday, May 1 - 4:00am
  • Friday, May 3 - 2:00am
  • Sunday, May 5 - 1:00pm
  • A Farewell to Arms
  • Wednesday, May 8 - 4:00am
  • Friday, May 10 - 2:00am
  • Sunday, May 12 - 1:00pm
  • FILM: An Ideal Husband
  • Wednesday, May 15 - 4:00am
  • Friday, May 17 - 2:00am