CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Chinese Music in Taiwan: A Living Tradition (1994)





Online media for this show is not available on our website.

Episode Details

Kaohsiung Municipal Experimental Chinese Orchestra plays traditional Chinese folk songs, ballads, ceremonial tunes, and spiritually inspired melodies, as they are interpreted today in Taiwan. During the ongoing performance, the narrator describes various instruments, melodies, and histories. Good sound quality of master musicians playing traditional Chinese instruments. Juxtaposed with the orchestral performances are amateur groups who are keeping the music alive in daily life, for example, festival parades, the Ensemble Orientalia of Taipei, and elementary school programs

  • Becky Sharp
  • Saturday, May 25 - 9:00pm
  • Bartleby
  • Wednesday, May 22 - 4:00am
  • Friday, May 24 - 2:00am
  • Sunday, May 26 - 1:00pm
  • An Ideal Husband
  • Wednesday, May 15 - 4:00am
  • Friday, May 17 - 2:00am
  • Sunday, May 19 - 1:00pm
  • A Farewell to Arms
  • Wednesday, May 8 - 4:05am
  • Friday, May 10 - 2:00am
  • Sunday, May 12 - 1:00pm
  • Abilene Town
  • Wednesday, May 1 - 4:00am
  • Friday, May 3 - 2:00am
  • Sunday, May 5 - 1:00pm
  • As You Like It
  • Friday, April 26 - 2:00am
  • Sunday, April 28 - 1:00pm