CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: As You Like It





Online media for this show is not available on our website.

Episode Details

(1936, UK, b&w, comedy)
Dir.: Paul Czinner. Writers:  J.M. Barrie (treatment), Robert Cullen (scenario) (as R.J. Cullen)
Cast: Laurence Olivier, Elisabeth Bergner, Sophie Stewart, Henry Ainley.

Adaptation of Shakespeare's celebrated comedy about Orlando and Rosalind, cross-dressing and mistaken identity. "All the world's a stage." A Duke usurps his brother's land and power, banishing him and his entourage into the forest of Arden. The banished Duke's daughter, Rosalind, remains with her cousin Celia. She has fallen in love with Orlando, but he has his own tyrannical brother with whom to contend, so he joins those in the forest. Rosalind, now banished, disguises herself as a young man, with Celia as her servant, and follows Orlando into the forest. There, nature stirs love's fires in various rustics as well as in those from the court. Phebe, a shepherdess loved by Silvius, is smitten with the disguised Rosalind. Can true love find a way, and can brothers be reconciled and harmony restored?

  • Bartleby
  • Wednesday, May 22 - 4:00am
  • An Ideal Husband
  • Wednesday, May 15 - 4:00am
  • Friday, May 17 - 2:00am
  • Sunday, May 19 - 1:00pm
  • A Farewell to Arms
  • Wednesday, May 8 - 4:05am
  • Friday, May 10 - 2:00am
  • Sunday, May 12 - 1:00pm
  • Abilene Town
  • Wednesday, May 1 - 4:00am
  • Friday, May 3 - 2:00am
  • Sunday, May 5 - 1:00pm
  • As You Like It
  • Wednesday, April 24 - 4:00am
  • Friday, April 26 - 2:00am
  • Sunday, April 28 - 1:00pm