CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: La France





Online media for this show is not available on our website.

Episode Details

(France, 2007, in French w/English subtitles, Drama | Musical | Romance | War)
Director: Serge Bozon
Writers: Serge Bozon, Axelle Ropert
Stars: Sylvie Testud, Pascal Greggo
Winner of the Prix Jean Vigo for the best French debut film, Serge Bozon's LA FRANCE is "a WWI movie like none other" (NY Times). An intoxicating blend of wartime romance and brightly colored musical, the film depicts an original world "where Bresson meets the Beatles" (Variety).
French farm girl Camille (Sylvie Testud) is awaiting news of her husband (the late Guillaume Depardieu), who is fighting at the front. After she receives an enigmatic letter ending their relationship, she dresses up as a boy and joins a wandering regiment in search of her estranged love. Skirting the edges of battlefields, the platoon haunts the screen like shell-shocked specters, awakening for four uncannily beautiful musical numbers played on homemade string instruments. The tunes are disarmingly catchy 60s pop, an attempt to imagine utopia in the midst of hell.

  • Bartleby
  • Wednesday, May 22 - 4:00am
  • An Ideal Husband
  • Wednesday, May 15 - 4:00am
  • Friday, May 17 - 2:00am
  • Sunday, May 19 - 1:00pm
  • A Farewell to Arms
  • Wednesday, May 8 - 4:05am
  • Friday, May 10 - 2:00am
  • Sunday, May 12 - 1:00pm
  • Abilene Town
  • Wednesday, May 1 - 4:00am
  • Friday, May 3 - 2:00am
  • Sunday, May 5 - 1:00pm
  • As You Like It
  • Wednesday, April 24 - 4:00am
  • Friday, April 26 - 2:00am
  • Sunday, April 28 - 1:00pm