CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Closely Watched Trains (1966)





Online media for this show is not available on our website.

Episode Details

(1966, Country: Czechoslovakia, Language: Czech|German, Genres: Comedy|Drama|Romance|War, B&W)
Director: Jiri Menzel
Writers: Bohumil Hrabal (novel), Bohumil Hrabal (screenplay)
Stars: Vaclav Neckar, Josef Somr, Vlastimil Brodsky

At a village railway station in occupied Czechoslovakia, a bumbling dispatcher's apprentice longs to liberate himself from his virginity. Oblivious to the war and the resistance that surrounds him, this young man embarks on a journey of sexual awakening and self-discovery, encountering a universe of frustration, eroticism, and adventure within his sleepy backwater depot. Wry and tender, Academy Award-winning Closely Watched Trains is a masterpiece of human observation and one of the best-loved films of the Czech New Wave.

Discussion Guest: Leonard Quart / Cineaste Magazine.

Guest List

Leonard Quart Cineaste

  • An Ideal Husband
  • Wednesday, May 15 - 4:00am
  • Friday, May 17 - 2:00am
  • A Farewell to Arms
  • Wednesday, May 8 - 4:05am
  • Friday, May 10 - 2:00am
  • Sunday, May 12 - 1:00pm
  • Abilene Town
  • Wednesday, May 1 - 4:00am
  • Friday, May 3 - 2:00am
  • Sunday, May 5 - 1:00pm
  • As You Like It
  • Wednesday, April 24 - 4:00am
  • Friday, April 26 - 2:00am
  • Sunday, April 28 - 1:00pm
  • Anna Karenina
  • Friday, April 19 - 2:00am
  • Sunday, April 21 - 1:00pm