CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Fireman's Ball (1967)





Online media for this show is not available on our website.

Episode Details

(1967, Comedy|Drama, Country: Czechoslovakia|Italy, Language: Czech, color)
Director: Milos Forman
Writers: Milos Forman (screenplay), Jaroslav Papousek (screenplay)
Stars: Jan Vostrcil, Josef Sebanek, Josef Valnoha

A milestone of the Czech New Wave, Milos Forman's first color film The Firemen's Ball (Hori, ma panenko) is both a dazzling comedy and a provocative political satire. A hilarious saga of good intentions confounded, the story chronicles a firemen's ball where nothing goes right-from a beauty pageant whose reluctant participants embarrass the organizers to a lottery from which nearly all the prizes are pilfered. Presumed to be a commentary on the floundering Czech leadership, the film was "banned forever" in Czechoslovakia following the Russian invasion and prompted Forman's move to America.

Discussion Guest: Vaclav Paris, The City College of New York, CUNY

  • Bartleby
  • Wednesday, May 22 - 4:00am
  • An Ideal Husband
  • Wednesday, May 15 - 4:00am
  • Friday, May 17 - 2:00am
  • Sunday, May 19 - 1:00pm
  • A Farewell to Arms
  • Wednesday, May 8 - 4:05am
  • Friday, May 10 - 2:00am
  • Sunday, May 12 - 1:00pm
  • Abilene Town
  • Wednesday, May 1 - 4:00am
  • Friday, May 3 - 2:00am
  • Sunday, May 5 - 1:00pm
  • As You Like It
  • Wednesday, April 24 - 4:00am
  • Friday, April 26 - 2:00am
  • Sunday, April 28 - 1:00pm