CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Bringing the Public Back to Public Art: Betty Yu, Charlotte Cohen

Episode Details

Original tape date: April 11, 2018.

First aired: April 27, 2018.

Money for the arts. Where's it come from? Where does it go? Every day there's another multi million dollar art auction. Art as a private commodity is the preserve of the very rich. But what about the rest of us? If we all agree that arts and creativity are important ingredients of life, are we doing all we can to support the artists in our midst?? Laura is joined today by three guests who make it their job to figure out how we'll democratize access to art and art making. First, Betty Yu, art and organizer of the Chinatown Art Brigade, then Amin Husain, co-founder of MTL Collective and professor at NYU, and last, Charlotte Cohen, executive director of the Brooklyn Arts Council.

Guest List

Charlotte Cohen Executive Director, Brooklyn Arts Council

Amin Husain Co-Founder, MTL Collective

Betty Yu Co-Founder, Chinatown Art Brigade

  • Dance as World-Changing Movement: Alice Sheppard and STREB
  • Thursday, May 23 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • TBA
  • Friday, May 24 - 8:30pm
  • Saturday, May 25 - 2:00pm
  • Sunday, May 26 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, May 30 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • TBA
  • Friday, May 31 - 8:30pm
  • Saturday, June 1 - 2:00pm
  • Sunday, June 2 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, June 6 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • TBA
  • Friday, June 7 - 8:30pm
  • Saturday, June 8 - 2:00pm
  • Sunday, June 9 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, June 13 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • TBA
  • Friday, June 14 - 8:30pm
  • Saturday, June 15 - 2:00pm
  • Sunday, June 16 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, June 20 - 7:30am, 1:30pm