CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Transformative Cities: Crisis and Opportunity in Amsterdam





Online media for this episode is not currently available on our website.

Episode Details

Original tape date: June 8, 2018.

First aired: October 5, 2018.

"Cities accumulate capital, people, aspirations, and power. But, whose power? Whose aspirations? How can we find in the city a place of possibility?" These are the questions from Laura Flanders' opening statements at the Transnational Institute's convening on Transformative Cities in Amsterdam during July 2018. While there, we spoke to officials, activists, and theorists from across the world working to build better designed, more public, more democratic cities. In cities, can we find liberation? Can we build fearless spaces that help us become fearless people?

Guest List

Kali Akuno Director, Cooperation Jackson

Harriet Bergman Student & Activist, Amsterdam

Renata Boulos Member of Homeless Workers Movement, Homeless Workers Movement, Brazil

Sacajawea Hall Activist, Cooperation Jackson

Ana Méndez de Andés Coordinator, Madrid129

Saskia Sassen Professor of Sociology, Columbia University

Sol Trumbo Vila Researcher, Transnational Institute

Rutger Groot Wassink Deputy Mayor of Amsterdam, Government of Amsterdam

Yuliya Yurchenko Researcher, Public Services International Research Unit (PSIRU)

  • TBA
  • Thursday, May 30 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Drawing Comix at the Margins
  • Friday, May 31 - 8:30pm
  • Saturday, June 1 - 2:00pm
  • Sunday, June 2 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, June 6 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • TBA
  • Friday, June 7 - 8:30pm
  • Saturday, June 8 - 2:00pm
  • Sunday, June 9 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, June 13 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • TBA
  • Friday, June 14 - 8:30pm
  • Saturday, June 15 - 2:00pm
  • Sunday, June 16 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, June 20 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • TBA
  • Friday, June 21 - 8:30pm
  • Saturday, June 22 - 2:00pm
  • Sunday, June 23 - 10:30am