CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Nicholas Dagen Bloom

Episode Details

Original tape date: October 15, 2018.

First aired: November 12, 2018.

Mold, lead, leaks and even murder. Those were just some of the conditions and concerns described in emotional testimonies by dozens of public housing residents during a hearing in United States District Court in September. The hearing was on whether an independent monitor should be appointed to oversee the sad state of the buildings run by the New York City Housing Authority, also known as NYCHA.

Many of us can remember a time when New York City had some of the best maintained public housing projects in the country. When did this downward spiral begin, and why?

My guest today is Nicholas Bloom, a Professor of Social Science at New York Institute of Technology. He is the author of Public Housing that Worked: New York in the Twentieth Century. and co-editor of Affordable Housing in New York: The People, Places and Policies that Transformed a City.

Guest List

Nicholas Dagen Bloom, Ph.D. Author, “Public Housing That Worked: New York in the Twentieth Century”

  • Barbara Mensch
  • Saturday, May 25 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, May 27 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Nancy Miller, Author; "My Brilliant Friends"
  • Monday, May 27 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, May 29 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, June 1 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, June 2 - 9:30am
  • Monday, June 3 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, June 8 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, June 10 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • TBA
  • Monday, June 10 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, June 12 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, June 15 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, June 16 - 9:30am
  • Monday, June 17 - 8:00am, 2:00pm